What to recommend to a budding author?

I have a few children in my class who want to be writers, they are writers. They have already started practicing their craft, bringing in their work in progress for me to listen to.

How to help and support them?

I decided that the best way to help them was to introduce them to a wider range of books and once I explained that their favourite authors were readers and had read widely when they were young, they were keen.

Then, what to choose? Not to many so I did not frighten them. A mixture of old and new for balance. What might appeal to them based on what they were already reading? Difficult decisions.

After a trawl through my bookshelf I came up with a small pile of books, some recent publications some well established authors. In no particular order these are the ones I have chosen as a starting point.

The 'Iron Man by Ted HughesThe Iron Man by Ted Hughes

A classic. Well written by a splendid wordsmith and well worth reading. I’m hoping that they will begin to see that all human emotions in a well constructed short story.

The London Eye Mystery by Siobhan DowdThe London Eye Mystery by Siobhan Dowd

I chose this for many reasons one of them being that a good story can be set in modern times and reflect different types of people and family life.

Just William by Richmal CromptonJust William by Richmal Crompton

I came to this via the recording of Martin Jarvis which were broadcast on the BBC. I think that some of the language and social situations will not be familiar but that’s not a bad thing. It will generate discussion if nothing else.

The Wolves of Willoughby Chase by Joan Aiken (1962) The Wolves of Willoughby Chase by Joan Aiken (1962)

Great mixture of fantasy and reality that I thought would interest them.

Moon Pie by Simon MasonMoon Pie by Simon Mason

Another good story involving a modern setting and the complications of modern families. The comment so far is that the farther is ‘Mint’, so I think this is going to be a winner.

A Girl Called Dog by Nicola DaviesA Girl Called Dog by Nicola Davies

A modern-day portral of child slavery but presented in a format that children can understand. I’m looking forward to the discussion around this book. I just wish I had more than one copy.

Skellig by David AlmondSkellig by David Almond

Again another classic that I think they should read.

I will start putting together another small pile.

About booksfrommybookshelf

I am a passionate reader of children's books (Primary aged) with a particular interest in picture books. I am always on the look out for children's books at are written by authors from other countries. I am also keen on technology and try to keep abreast of what is happening in a fast changing world. At present my day job is to support teachers and local authorities in the Yorkshire and Humber region (UK), which I really enjoy. Another aspect of my work is to present nationally developed work for the National Strategies. With economic cuts my job will terminate in Spring next year and I may be carrying out independent work based around high quality picture books. My other interest include my allotment, knitting and last but not least my family. My Twitter name is Orlama.
This entry was posted in Booklist Upper KS2, Collections, Issues. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

