The Korean Cinderella by Shirley Clime

This version of Cinderella has all the basic events and characters we know and love but set in the context of early Chinese society. When the beautiful Yeh-Shin’s mother dies her father remarried a woman who already had her own daughter. Tragedy struck again and Yeh-shin’s became an orphan living with a stepmother who did not like her and who treated her like a slave. Her only friend was a fish who she had shared her food and thoughts with over the years. This was no ordinary fish; its bones are magical, and they come to the aid of Yeh-Shin, proving her with rich clothes and fine gold shoe to enable her to go to the local festival. As in our version of Cinderella, Yeh-Shin loses her shoe and all her new finery disappears. The prince searches for her and discovers her true identity and things end happily after for Yeh-Shin but not the stepmother and stepsister who were sent to live in a cave where they met their demise.

About booksfrommybookshelf

I am a passionate reader of children's books (Primary aged) with a particular interest in picture books. I am always on the look out for children's books at are written by authors from other countries. I am also keen on technology and try to keep abreast of what is happening in a fast changing world. At present my day job is to support teachers and local authorities in the Yorkshire and Humber region (UK), which I really enjoy. Another aspect of my work is to present nationally developed work for the National Strategies. With economic cuts my job will terminate in Spring next year and I may be carrying out independent work based around high quality picture books. My other interest include my allotment, knitting and last but not least my family. My Twitter name is Orlama.
This entry was posted in Booklist Upper KS2, Feelings, Issues, Picture Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

