The Emerald Atlas by John Stephens

A family called P. Snatched from their home three siblings are thrown into the unforgiving and uncaring world of orphanages. These they endure for many years until the day came when they were given their final chance of having a home.  Yet, things are not all they appear. What is the mysterious book they come across and how is it linked to the P’s? What is the mystery that surrounds their new home?

Each member of the P family brings to the solving of the mystery skills they have honed over the years spent surviving in orphanages.

A mystery that starts with an old photograph that transports them back in time.

The first part of a series which I hope will maintain the tension and excitement of this introduction.

When I read The Emerald  Atlas, I immediately thought that it would make a great link with the fantasy games such as Myst that are being used to support learning in schools. The part in the book (pages 45-50) where the children accidentally transported to another time via a book links nicely with Myst 3 Exile. After reading the book why not visit Tim Rylands (The Myst man)website.

Overcoming adversity, sibling relationships, problem solving, the use of a portal, sort of flashbacks.


About booksfrommybookshelf

I am a passionate reader of children's books (Primary aged) with a particular interest in picture books. I am always on the look out for children's books at are written by authors from other countries. I am also keen on technology and try to keep abreast of what is happening in a fast changing world. At present my day job is to support teachers and local authorities in the Yorkshire and Humber region (UK), which I really enjoy. Another aspect of my work is to present nationally developed work for the National Strategies. With economic cuts my job will terminate in Spring next year and I may be carrying out independent work based around high quality picture books. My other interest include my allotment, knitting and last but not least my family. My Twitter name is Orlama.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Booklist Upper KS2, Relationships. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

