One Boy’s War by Lynn Huggins-Cooper and Ian Benfold Haywood

One Boy’s War by Lynn Huggins-Cooper and Ian Benfold HaywoodThere is an added poignancy to this tale because it is based on a young man who survived.

Despite being under age, he, like many of his friends wanted to go off to fight in the Great War especially when his father went off to war.  After being accepted, Sydney is trained and shipped off to the front where the horrors of war become a reality. Due to censorship he is unable to convey this in his letters to his mother. Despite the horrors surrounding him Stanley still worries about his mother and father. The damage that is inflicted by war on families is brought to the fore by the final letter in the book from his father, telling his mother that he is coming home and looking forward to seeing him.

About booksfrommybookshelf

I am a passionate reader of children's books (Primary aged) with a particular interest in picture books. I am always on the look out for children's books at are written by authors from other countries. I am also keen on technology and try to keep abreast of what is happening in a fast changing world. At present my day job is to support teachers and local authorities in the Yorkshire and Humber region (UK), which I really enjoy. Another aspect of my work is to present nationally developed work for the National Strategies. With economic cuts my job will terminate in Spring next year and I may be carrying out independent work based around high quality picture books. My other interest include my allotment, knitting and last but not least my family. My Twitter name is Orlama.
This entry was posted in Booklist Upper KS2, Picture Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

