Hugless Douglas by David Melling

Hugless Douglas by David MellingI wasn’t sure that I would like this book but after reading and enjoying it I will go in my pile of books I would have loved to have read to my children when they were young.

Young Douglas wake up after his hibernation and  needs a hug. But how to hug? and Who gives the best hugs? In his quest to find the best hug Douglas experiments with different types of hugs. He starts off with BIG hugs (clasping a large rock) a TALL hug (hugging and climbing a tree) and a comfy hug (a bush). But the bush resists his hugs, sprouted legs and ran away. The sheep who were hiding in the bush are adamant that they are too busy for hugging.

Finally, after disturbing an owl and a rabbit he is led by the hand towards a familiar deep dark cave where someone is waking up. Within the deep dark cave his HUG is waiting.

The images and words fit together well, it was good that some of the words were in different fonts to support the reader.

I loved the anthology of hugs at the back of the book. Some of the images reminded me of some of the large women and their husbands in Belleville Rendez-Vous and the rabbit reminds me of the grumpy rabbit from Winnie the Pooh.

A lovely book to read with young children.

I’d really enjoy giving this as a gift.

About booksfrommybookshelf

I am a passionate reader of children's books (Primary aged) with a particular interest in picture books. I am always on the look out for children's books at are written by authors from other countries. I am also keen on technology and try to keep abreast of what is happening in a fast changing world. At present my day job is to support teachers and local authorities in the Yorkshire and Humber region (UK), which I really enjoy. Another aspect of my work is to present nationally developed work for the National Strategies. With economic cuts my job will terminate in Spring next year and I may be carrying out independent work based around high quality picture books. My other interest include my allotment, knitting and last but not least my family. My Twitter name is Orlama.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Booklist KS1, Picture Books, Relationships. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hugless Douglas by David Melling

  1. We are so glad you enjoyed our book, Hugless Douglas. It is one of our favorites too! We have posted a link to your blog on our facebook page. http://on.fb.me/fDZklw
    Are you a fan yet?
    Happy Reading,
    Elizabeth Bennett
    tiger tales

  2. Catherine Johnson says:

    Oh that’s funny I should stumble upon this review, I’ve bought that for my kids for Easter. Thanks for sharing, it sounds great!

Leave a Reply

