Measuring Angels by Lesley Ely and Polly Dunbar

A gentle tale supported by the illustrations of Polly Dunbar.

Will the children on the front cover be measuring angles or are they angels who measure?

Story of two young girls who fall out for no apparent reason.They argue about the existence of Angels. Their friend Gabriel believes in angels but they are not sure if angels really exist and their teacher is not use either.

Things are made much worse for one of the girls when she keeps hearing and seeing other children talking about her.

To help the girls resolve their disagreement the teacher forces them to cooperate when the class are growing sunflower seeds. This gives the opportunity to work through their problems and resolve them so everyone is happy.

Lovely for sharing at home and school and for supporting discussions about how to come to terms with the fluctuations of friendships.

I also love the authors word play in her use of the name Gabriel for the little boy and his belief in angels. I think that if I were in school I would also consider using this book as a springboard for stimulating big questions e.g. Do angels exist?

About booksfrommybookshelf

I am a passionate reader of children's books (Primary aged) with a particular interest in picture books. I am always on the look out for children's books at are written by authors from other countries. I am also keen on technology and try to keep abreast of what is happening in a fast changing world. At present my day job is to support teachers and local authorities in the Yorkshire and Humber region (UK), which I really enjoy. Another aspect of my work is to present nationally developed work for the National Strategies. With economic cuts my job will terminate in Spring next year and I may be carrying out independent work based around high quality picture books. My other interest include my allotment, knitting and last but not least my family. My Twitter name is Orlama.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Feelings, Picture Books. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Measuring Angels by Lesley Ely and Polly Dunbar

  1. Pingback: They Exist | Danroberson's Blog

  2. Pingback: They Exist | My Blog

Leave a Reply

