Archie’s War, My Scrapbook of The First World War 1914-1918 by me Archie Albright Aged 10 years

Archie’s War, My Scrapbook of The First World War 1914-1918 by me Archie Albright Aged 10 yearsArchie’s War, My Scrapbook of The First World War 1914-1918 by me Archie Albright Aged 10 years

By Marcia  Williams ISBN 978-1-4063-1002-3

The fictional scrapbook of young Archie records how the Great World war affected him and his family and friends. He records his experiences sometimes using comic book strips, sometimes drawing and letters are stuck into the scrapbook. We go through the different feeling Archie has when his farther becomes a soldier and he does not hear from. Archie shows us that children were very aware of the pressures men experienced if they were unable to fight or were conscious objectors.

About booksfrommybookshelf

I am a passionate reader of children's books (Primary aged) with a particular interest in picture books. I am always on the look out for children's books at are written by authors from other countries. I am also keen on technology and try to keep abreast of what is happening in a fast changing world. At present my day job is to support teachers and local authorities in the Yorkshire and Humber region (UK), which I really enjoy. Another aspect of my work is to present nationally developed work for the National Strategies. With economic cuts my job will terminate in Spring next year and I may be carrying out independent work based around high quality picture books. My other interest include my allotment, knitting and last but not least my family. My Twitter name is Orlama.
This entry was posted in Booklist Upper KS2, Picture Books, War/The impact of war. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

